- The 7th Edition Board Layout
- The board layout for 4 players is incorrect. The opposite edges should have
identical letters at the opposite board entries. You can leave a board on one side
and enter the opposite board edge at the space that is exactly opposite the one you
left. The 2 player board is a little different in that the exits really DO cross over, which means, if you are playing a 2 player game, toss out the RELOCATE SECTOR card, which is useless in a 2 player game (or, just redraw when you come to it).
- Attack-Neutral Combos
- Some cards have mutiple spell designations in the corner (ATTACK, NEUTRAL, COUNTERACTION) with some combination of spell types shown. Since the rules stipulate that you can cast a COUNTERACTION out of turn or during your normal turn, the COUNTERACTION-NEUTRAL is redundant (and to be eliminated in later editions). All the cards with "SELF" marked on them were changed to "LOS" in later editions, primarily because you are obviously in LOS with yourself, and the card specifies that you cast the spell on yourself. These will be changed back to "SELF" in later additions, primarily due to the fact that it misleads people into believing that a "SELF" type spell can be cast on anyone. In the 8th edition, "who" the spell can be cast on will be very specifically defined. The cards that DO say ATTACK-NEUTRAL on them refer to the fact that they are a Neutral spell if cast on yourself and an Attack when cast on others.
- Combat
- You can't attack yourself. This is mentioned in the 6th edition rules, but no
earlier editions. This is a very important rule! Also, the rule should read "No ATTACKS can be used during the first round of turns", not "No COMBAT during the first round of turns". It's perfectly okay to use a DESTROY WALL next to a person, thus damaging him on the first turn, since it is not an attack.
- Creating Objects
- More notes on creating objects on one's home base; the
basic rules state that you may NOT create an object on a player's home
base. This rule appears to get broken by such a card as TRADER, and some TELEPORTATIONS. This is alright as long as "immobile objects", such as Solid Stone or Thornbush, are not placed on the home base. The 8th edition clarifies this, since it limits what can and cannot be teleported on the cards. TRADER, for example, only works on "Mobile Objects".
- Death
- The second-hand killing of a Wizard, say by falling walls or
controlled MONSTERS, does not get you his cards, nor does a MONSTER get
cards by killing a player!
- Dumping Cards and Physical Objects
- This is explained pretty well in the
basic rules, but everybody seems to forget you can do it. If you want to
discard a physical object, it is NOT necessary to dump it on the board, you
can just discard it to the discard pile. The board would get very crowded
otherwise. This includes ARTIFACTS, if you think someone is about to take
one from you and there's nothing you can do about it. This can only be done during
your own turn (this is not in the rules, but will be next printing).
- Line-of-Sight
- If you "barely nick a corner" of a wall, this is still NOT
line-of-sight. A VISIONSTONE could see through the corner, but if you
"nicked two corners", the VISIONSTONE would not work.
The new Wiz-War set, 6th edition, has no dots in the center of the
squares with which to measure line-of-sight, even though the rules say to
use these non-existent dots. Our advice is to eyeball the center of the
square, or put your own dots on the playing board. It might also be
worthwhile to take a magic marker and draw the walls brown, as they do not
stand out very well as it is.
- Lost Turns
- These will accumulate if you get hit by a "lost turns" type
spell while under the effect of another "lost turns" spell. Also, if you
lose a turn while under a duration spell, this still uses up a turn of the
duration spell.
If you happen to get hit by a reflected attack (yours), and you "lose a turn",
this would be THAT turn, not your next turn. This could happen with
Lightning Bolt or Hypnosis, for example.
As the rules say, if you Lose a Turn, you can't do anything but play
Counteractions until your next turn. This also means you can't draw cards!
- Magic Sticks
- These don't have to be displayed. When you first charge it
with a NUMBER card, the NUMBER card gets discarded, so it no longer counts
as part of your hand.
- Magic Stones
- They may be discarded as cards even after used and
displayed. Nothing makes an object so permanent that it cannot be
discarded. This is always a player option. MAGIC STONES are not "created"
by the card, the card merely represents the physical object. It may be
displayed and left displayed whenever you use it first, even if it is not
your turn.
- Monsters
- These are creatures that do damage, generally. This means that
ALTER EGO, SHADOW, FAMILIAR, and KILLER OOZE are considered MONSTERS, while
the SLIME, ANIMATE OBJECT, DECOY and BUCK are not, even though they are
mobile.
Though some Monsters can carry objects, they cannot use them.
You can't attack your own monsters. This is in line with the rule that
you can't attack yourself, and prevents some rule conflicts.
Monsters that can cast spells can cast "SELF" spells, too. A monster that changes itself into a different monster (like a Werewolf), assumes the attributes of that monster, as described on the card, but retains any other attributes not mentioned.
- Picking Up Objects
- No, you can't pick up 2 objects at the same time, even if they're in the
same space.
- Players as Objects
- There is some confusion in the rules which will
probably not be resolved until next edition as to whether Wizards and
MONSTERS can be treated as objects or not, for purposes of spells such as
DRAG and a few others. Unfortunately, this is not well defined anywhere.
The basic rules state that players are NOT objects, so spells such as
TELEPORT OBJECT and
ANIMATE OBJECT would have no effect on Wizards. Use common sense and house
rules. You will rarely run into
this as a problem, but you could. Obviously, if a card says a MONSTER can
carry objects, it is NOT referring to other Wizards!
- Spell Priority
- There is some question as to whether Counteractions or
Attacks work first, especially in a case like SHIELDSTONE vs FIREBALL.
Counteractions always work first. Thus, if someone was hit with a FIREBALL
while they were carrying a BLOODSTONE, the BLOODSTONE would reduce the
damage done by a point before it was destroyed.
If you have 2 Counteractions you want to use, you decide for yourself
which one activates first.
If a spell gets counteracted, the number card (if any) that accompanied it is also discarded.
- Throwing Objects
- The basic rules imply, without explicitly stating, that
you can throw objects, but not treasures. That's true! You could take a
Magic Stone and throw it inot a PIT 3 spaces away, if you wanted. Throwing
objects at other players does not do any damage, unless a card, such as
HEAVE-HO or DAGGER says so.
- Treasures
- If a player is eliminated, any treasure left on his home base
does NOT count toward eliminating the player to whom that treasure belongs. Also, the 7th edition rules are rather badly worded and imply that you can carry 2 treasures as long as one of them is your own and the other belongs to another player. This is incorrect. You can carry only ONE treasure, and it can be EITHER one of your own or one of the opponent's.
- Absorb
- This is only for one attack, it does not work against 3 points of
damage from multiple attacks in one turn.
- Absorb Spell
- When played versus a REUSE SPELL, ABSORB SPELL takes
priority, since it makes no sense doing it the other way! Also ABSORB SPELL
defeats a CARD ERASURE, as Counteractions take effect before Attacks.
ABSORB SPELL has no effect on objects or the spells they produce, such as
Magics Sticks, Magic Stones, and Artifacts. ABSORB SPELL will not work
against ANTI-ANTI, since ANTI-ANTI is not used against the player, but
rather his spell. Yes, ABSORB SPELL will work on FULL REFLECTION or
REFLECTION, but not FULL SHIELD, as that is not used against you, but cast
upon the player using it.
- Add
- Can you play a NUMBER card to add to your movement, then perform some action
that gets you another NUMBER card, THEN play your ADD with the new NUMBER
card, adding it to the NUMBER card already played? No, you can't. When
the ADD card is used, the NUMBER cards to be added must be played together,
immediately upon casting the ADD spell.
- Adrenaline
- This lets you attack 2 times in a turn, it doesn't let you use
objects twice in a turn when the particular object says that it can be used
once a turn.
- Alter Ego
- The Alter Ego must be created in the space you are in; the fact the
card says "LOS" on it was merely to indicate that the space you are in is
certainly in your LOS. This will be changed in a later edition to "Same
Space".
- Amber Pendant
- Yes, the token says "AMBER AMULET", at least in the first
edition of this expansion. You obviously cannot put an object (like a
Magic Stick) in the AMBER PENDANT. It has to be a spell. A "neutral
duration spell" certainly does not include things like CREATE WALL, or
INTERRUPT, but would include SHRINK or INVISIBLE.
- Amplify
- With SLOW DEATH, it causes 2 pts. damage per turn. If AMPLIFY is
used with SHIELDSTONE, SHADOWSTONE, WIZARDBLADE, or other permanent
objects, note that it only affects that object for one use of the object,
not permanently. AMPLIFY can be used with a 1 point spell (one without a
NUMBER card) to make it worth 2 points. AMPLIFY does not affect NUMBER
cards going into POWER BATTERY, it only affects the power as you use it to
cast spells.
- Animate Object
- If this is on a TREASURE, and the treasure is on your home
base, is it considered to be sitting on your home base? Since this is an
enchantment on the object, and not a creature that is carrying it, then the
answer is YES.
- Anti-Anti
- Will work against SHIELDSTONE, but not SOULSTONE. This will not
work against Remove Curse, as Remove Curse does not counter the attack spell,
but merely stops the ongoing effects of the spell.
- Around the Corner
- This is a spell cast on another spell. If such a spell
is reflected, then the reflected spell will go back around the corner,
since it still has AROUND THE CORNER cast on it.
- Big Man
- Can be punched from an adjacent square, or attacked by MONSTERS
from an adjacent square. If he steps over something, like a PIT or KILLER
OOZE, it requires 2 movement points. If Big Man pushes someone to an
intersection, then the other player gets to decide which direction to go,
if Big Man decides to push him further. Big Man will cancel Shrink.
- Blink
- See TELEPORT, or TELEPORT SPELLS.
- Blind
- Even if you're BLIND, you can still move your MONSTERS okay, since
they aren't LOS controls, anyway. Also, non-LOS spells are not affected by
your being blind. If you try to cast a spell on someone, if it goes the
right direction, then it hits him. If you cast a spell that was supposed to
go 3 spaces away, and you accidentally point it at the wall next to you
instead, since the spell can't go the intended distance, it dissipates. If
you are trying to attack one player while you are BLIND and the spell ends
up going toward another player, it misses him.
- Blunt
- If you play two in a row, they act one after the other, they do not cancel the
damage out entirely! Thus, against a 5 point Fireball, the first would reduce damage to 3 points (2.5 rounded up), and the second would reduce damage to 2 points (1.5 rounded up).
- Book of Spells
- This cannot hold items or objects, just spells and NUMBER
cards. Discard them if you draw objects, redrawing to fill to 5 cards.
These may be used in any combination you like with the cards in your hand.
REFLECTED spells will blast you, not the BOOK.
- Brainstone
- This has a loophole. If you drop it and pick it up, you get two
new cards, then get to draw 2 more at the end of your turn. This is, so
far, legal.
- Buck
- See "Pass the Buck"
- Buddy
- Some people think this should be an ATTACK. If you want to play it
that way, fine. Some people also think it should be burned. Some play it as
a duration card, so you could do this as a house rule. In the next
revision, it will just become an ATTACK.
- Claw of Mars
- This does NOT allow you to use objects more than once per
turn if the object says it can be used only once per turn. It will,
however, let you punch someone 3 times, or use 3 different attacks.
- Create Big Black Bat
- It can carry, but not use, objects, not even passive
objects like AMBER PENDANT with a Counteraction. Obviously a BAT with a
BRAINSTONE can't draw cards.
- Create Familiar
- It can carry a spell, not an object.
- Create Pit
- Yes, you can drop objects in here, even while you are jumping
over the PIT. No, contrary to what the card says, you can't create objects
in or on or over the PIT, which eliminates all those bizarre questions
about creating SOLID STONE over a PIT and having it fall down, or making a
WALL sideways over a PIT, and so on. TINY SWAP can't be used to do this
either, as this would qualify as creating an object in a space where an
object already is, which is against the basic rules. FILL SQUARE WITH
STONE cancels a PIT, and any objects inside the PIT at the time appear at
the top, on the floor, so nothing gets "squashed". It takes a whole turn to
climb out of, as well as into, a PIT, and your movement would end adjacent
to the PIT. You could still add NUMBER cards to your movement in such a
case, though. You can jump diagonally across a PIT if it's at an
intersection, but it still takes 2 movement points to get across. A player
outside and adjacent to the PIT has LOS into the PIT, but a player in the
PIT has no LOS outside of the PIT (except in the very rare instance where
someone jumps or flies over and he uses an INTERRUPT to cast an
attack...you get the idea). If a PUSH OBJECT is used to shove a treasure in
on someone in a PIT, they take 2 points damage just as normal from a PUSHED
OBJECT.
- Create Pit, more
- Climbing into a PIT, you must start the turn adjacent to
the PIT, and may not perform any other actions while climbing. You could,
if you like, just fall in and take the damage. Two or more adjacent PITS
would just make one long PIT.
- Create Wall
- This can NOT be created in the middle of a square, or diagonally across
a square. This is true of any wall. Obviously it cannot be created on top of
a wall section with a door or an illusionary wall, as this would constitute
creating an object on a space that already has an object in it.
- Destroy Wall
- Works just fine on door-sections too. While ABSORB and BLUNT
will work fine against the damage from a falling wall, FULL SHIELD will
not, since it is not a magical attack.
- Disease
- The instructions on this one are confusing even to me. The
sentence that says "Disease is short-lived, you must infect a player every
turn for it to do any damage" can easily be misinterpreted. If you walk
into a space with another player while the spell is active, they take
damage. They do not "catch" the disease", thus the disease is short-lived.
If you want the player to take more damage from DISEASE, you enter his
square again on a following turn (or remain in the same square if he does
not move). There's some question as to whether the casting of the spell is
an ATTACK, or whether it is entering a square with another player that is
the ATTACK. Entering another player's square constitutes the ATTACK, not
casting the spell. This card violates the rule (somewhat) that you can't
attack more than once in a turn, since you can clearly infect more than one
person, as the card says. That's okay, it's supposed to be that way. By
this logic, a person with BUDDY cast on him, and DISEASE, cannot infect his
BUDDY, that is, cannot enter his space. Also, entering one player's space
multiple times in one turn does NOT cause extra damage, the damage can only
be inflicted to a single player once in a turn.
- Dispel Creation
- This has references to Expansion #1 cards, which, if you
have the basic set without the expansion, you have to ignore. The reason
for this is, DISPEL CREATION used to only be in the Expansion...it was
considered a good idea to put one in the basic set, but unfortunately, it
did not get edited to accomodate this move.
- Door-to-door
- The range of area-of-effect spells such as FEAR counts up to
where one side of the door is, then finishes counting at the other end of
the warp.
- Double-barrel
- Should say "half-strength attacks", not "half-strength spells", thus a
physical attack would work also.
- Drag
- This will work on Wizards and MONSTERS just fine. It will also work with
AROUND THE CORNER.
- Dust Cloud
- This will work on players or monsters. If someone tries to
physically attack someone else in a DUST CLOUD, they must roll the die to
see if they hit (a 1 in 4 chance). Since DUST CLOUD blocks LOS, an LOS
spell cannot be cast upon a player in DUST CLOUD, or by a player who is in
a DUST CLOUD. Spells cast upon oneself still work fine, though, and no roll
is required.
- Empathy
- If used as a Counteraction, the duration of the spell starts when
cast and ends at the beginning of one of the turns of the player that
attacked you. If used against CHAOS, it is quite ineffective, since it does
what CHAOS does anyway. This will not work against an already-active
spell, just new ones.
- Exploding Energy
- This only affects NUMBER cards carried by the Wizard, no items he carries,
such as POWER BATTERY or RING OF POWER.
- Extend
- Does not work on already-active spells.
- Eye of Claremont
- This should be marked as an attack.
- Fear
- If a player plays GO AWAY on someone where that person would have to
move into FEAR'S radius, treat it as though the player ran into a dead end.
FEAR wins. Since FEAR is cast on your SELF, it is not Counteractible. FEAR
even scares your own MONSTERS off. FEAR also takes priority over someone
who is UGLY. The 3 spaces away is measured as a Wizards walks (if he could
walk through walls), not diagonally.
FEAR doesn't affect other players until their own turns, but
technically it becomes active the moment it is cast. This is unlike UGLY,
which takes place instantly and forces other players to move away from you
during your turn. With FEAR, they have to use their own movement on their
own turn to move away from you. During your own turn, you could move back
into range with them, which would once again force them, on their own turn,
to try to move away from you.
If an opponent cannot move away from you but owns a card that would allow
him to do so (like Pass Through Wall or Teleport) he must use it to escape.
- Fill Square with Slime
- Sure, you can leave items in SLIME, but you can't
teleport someone there or create something else inside, like a MONSTER, or
leave a creation spell trapped inside. This is per the rule that you can't
create an object in a space where there is already an object. HANDFUL OF
TACKS would work just fine in SLIME, as it isn't a spell. Only water will
damage the SLIME, so other attacks are useless. Spells stuck in SLIME only
go off once, the first time someone walks into the SLIME. SLIME is a big
cube filling the corridor, and offers no LOS, nor can it be flown over.
- Fire Imp
- Will attack MONSTERS as well as players. If put in line of sight
with a KILLER OOZE, it will shoot it every turn until 5 points have
accumulated on it and killed it.
If the FIRE IMP hits you with his attack during your turn, you
can only use a COUNTERACTION against it, even though it is during your
turn. You might look at it as though the IMP is taking a turn within your
turn. What he shoots at you, technically, is a spell, and does magical
damage, thus may be COUNTERACTED like a spell. You cannot AMPLIFY, then
REVERSE the damage done to you, as AMPLIFY is a NEUTRAL and may not be used
to aid in COUNTERACTING the damage.
No, you can't create a FIRE IMP over a PIT. That consititutes creating
an object in an occupied space, which is against the rules (the PIT
occupies the space).
- Force Field
- For those of you who don't own this spell, it says;COUNTERACTION. L.O.S.
Creates a force field immediately
adjacent to you on one side only, preventing an opponent from entering the
space you occupy or cating [sic] spells on or past you. Lasts only
until the end of the opponent's turn. The Force Field is stationary, it does not move with the player. Cards that represent non-spell items, such as daggers, can fly through the field just fine. Likewise, Wizardblade can slice through the field.
- Force of the Jet-eye
- To be used only once per turn.
- Gift From Below
- Sure, you can use counteractions on this. Even reflections will work,
although no opponent will take any damage.
- Handful of Tacks
- These work just fine on MONSTERS, too, as do other hazards. If a player
chooses to pick up the tacks, they cannot perform other actions during their
turn of picking them up, although they can break the process of picking up
the tacks into 2 separate isolated turns. They can, of coures, draw cards
during these turns. If a player dumps the tacks into a space where someone is already standing, then that player takes no damage as he leaves the space where the tacks are. The next version of this card will say "entering the space" instead of "crossing the space".
- Heave-ho
- In the very rare occurence of a passage-loop, where HEAVE-HO
would travel forever, we've limited it to a maximum of 10 spaces. AROUND
THE CORNER has no effect on HEAVE-HO, as HEAVE-HO is cast on yourself, not
on the treasure. In the example below, where the "x's" represent Wizards,
HEAVE-HO does 3 points of damage, which are counted as spaces as the Wizard
walks;
_________________________
| | | |
| X | | |
|_______|_______|_______|
| | | |
| | | X |
|_______|_______|_______|
- Howling Vacuum
- This has no effect on a PERMAWARP if the other end of the
warp is in another sector. If it is in the same sector, passage through the
warp can, if possible, be counted as "the shortest path possible" to the
wizard casting the spell. An opponent WILL be pulled through a WALL OF
FIRE, if that is the shortest route, or a DUST CLOUD, or a WALL OF FOG,
etc. However, an opponent will NOT be pulled out of a PIT!
- Hypnosis
- Yes, this means you don't have to draw cards for your opponent at
the end of his turn. If REFLECTED, both players can control each other for
their next turns. This spell lasts a player's turn, so is in essence a
duration spell. If you cast Hypnosis on a Monster, you control the monster's *actions*, you do not take control of the monster. This is an important distinction for use upon Alter Ego, where the monster's controller's spells are used. Thus, the normal owner's spells are used up, not the ones belonging to the caster of Hynosis.
- Idiot
- "What am I doing here" is a joke. You don't really have to say it.
It's also the IDIOT'S choice as to whether he takes a short path through a
WALL OF FIRE (for example), or a long path around it. He can avoid
obstacles.
If you happen to already be carrying one of your treasures when you
are hit with this spell, it has no effect on you.
What is meant by "nothing can be done" is that all your effort must be
directed to getting to your nearest treasure. This still allows you to cast
and draw spells if they help you in your goal, but it does not allow you to
attack players or pick up other items, such as opponents' treasures. You
could, however, destroy a wall if your nearest treasure is behind it.
- Illusionary Attack
- Yep, you can use this to create a monster, or Swap, or Power Drain, even.
Each opponent affected has a 50% chance to believe in it; in the case of a
monster, each opponent rolls separately, the monster does not disappear
just because one player doesn't believe in it.
- Illusion Wall
- Just because you see a Wizard create an ILLUSION WALL does
not mean you know it's a fake, nor can you figure it out by watching
another Wizard walk through. You must roll to see if you believe it when
you see it. If you do believe it, it acts just like a real wall for you,
so even if you throw a dagger at it, the dagger would do 3 points of damage
to the wall and fall to the floor on your side of the wall. You can even
punch an ILLUSION WALL to pieces. If you destroy an ILLUSION WALL, this
does not destroy it for everyone, just you. You can't see through ILLUSION
WALL even if you know it's a fake.
- Interrupt
- If a player runs by in front of you, and you want to blast him
with a spell, state that you are casting your INTERRUPT as he passes in
front of you and you can cast the spell upon him.
- Invisible
- If a spell misses you while you are invisible, it hits nothing;
it dissipates into nothingness.
- Janitor
- Just like it says, ALL tokens, even DESTROYED WALLS, get removed.
- Killer Ooze
- This is a MONSTER. No, it does not block LOS, just lays in a
layer on the floor, and is not moveable. Only fire, and no other type of
attack, will hurt the ooze (except MONSTER BANE for 5 points).
- Large Rock/Dagger
- These are NOT spells (yes, the rules already say that)
which "create" the objects, they are the objects themselves. Yes, they can
be discarded!
- Lifesaver
- You would discard and redraw in a 2 player game. It doesn't say this
on the card, but it makes sense.
- Lightningblast
- If this gets FULLY REFLECTED, you lose the rest of your turn and can't
draw cards (in addition to damage).
- Load Stone
- Like it says, you can't discard it (which includes dropping it,
which is in essence discarding it), but you can certainly use whatever
means you have to dump it on another player, including SWAP OBJECT.
TELEPORT OBJECT would not work, as you are not giving it to another player.
Likewise, a player can take it from you by accident with a THOUGHT STEAL.
- Master Key
- Will not work with a JAMMED LOCK.
- Medusa
- Basically, you've turned to stone for a while, along with all the
stuff you've been carrying (except for ARTIFACTS, of course). You can't use
ANY spells, ARTIFACTS, Magic Sticks or Magic Stones during MEDUSA. Being
immune to damage does not mean you cannot be attacked with, let's say, a
SWAP. A person under MEDUSA cannot take damage from or be affected by a
TRAP. Anyone under MEDUSA would also be immune to SLOW DEATH and IT for the
duration of MEDUSA.
- Mental Swap
- If you were really rude, you could dump all your cards except
for MENTAL SWAP, and then trade hands. Of course, the other player might
use a FULL SHIELD on you.
- Mistbody
- Not affected by THORNBUSH or ROSEBUSH. A falling WALL would not
hurt you. You can still use objects, even while misted. If you drop or
throw something, it becomes unmisted (solid). No, Waterwalls will not
affect you, as you are floating along in the air, and the water is rushing
along on the floor. Yes, you can reach into a SAFE. MISTBODY is also immune
to KILLER OOZE, which lies on the floor.
- Monster Bane
- If you cast this against a monster that does not have any
specific life points, like SHADOW or FIRE-IMP, then you only get 1 point
from the monster.
- Negate Neutral
- This is a counteraction, and as such can certainly stop a
Destroy Wall spell as it is cast. It has no effect on Neutrals after they
have been cast, so it cannot make an item that was created with a Neutral
spell go away if it already exists.
- No Spell
- Works only on the player, not his magic items.
- Pass the Buck
- Can be attacked by a MONSTER in an adjacent square, or punched by a
Wizard in an adjacent square.
- Permawarp
- With area affect spells such as FEAR and BOMB, you would count
up to where the PERMAWARP is, then count the remainder of the effect's
distance in an area around the other end of PERMAWARP. I've also been told
PERMAWARP is much too powerful. If it seems so to you, play it so it
activates immediately upon being drawn, meaning a player cannot hold it
until the perfect moment to win the game, but must choose the best place to
locate it based upon where he is at the time.
- Power Drain
- If REFLECTION is used against it, they cancel, since you both
lose and gain the same number of points. Using POWER DRAIN on your own
monsters is not allowed, since you are not allowed to attack yourself or
your own controlled monsters. If POWER DRAIN is BLUNTed, then you still
POWER DRAIN the same amount of points, but your opponent takes less damage. He
is blunting "damage done", not acting upon the attack spell itself. The same is true of ABSORB SPELL.
- Psychic Storm
- This will certainly affect the caster if he is dumb enough
to stand within range. FULL REFLECTION of this spell will only protect the
one player using it, but casue a second PSYCHIC STORM to form where the
caster stands. REFLECTION, likewise, would cause a half-damage STORM
originating at the caster's location, also reducing damage to the user of
REFLECTION by half, but leaving the spell at full power against anyone else
that happens to be in range of the original spell. In the strange case
where more than one player reflects it, damage is cumulative, so this is
one case where the spell could do more damage to the caster than the
opponent.
An "adjacent square" is defined as one of the 4 that are side-by-side
with the target square, not the diagonals.
- Public Funds
- This should NOT be LOS.
- Reflection
- If you counteract a spell with this, then you may still also
counteract the remaining damage with another counteraction, such as BLUNT.
Yes, an attack with RICOCHET or AROUND THE CORNER can be reflected back
onto the caster. Note that other spells that do not have LOS can also be
reflected. You are, in essence, casting a reflection upon a spell which itself has a spell cast upon it, allowing you to control it. REFLECTION also works on "numbers of things", like cards, so it would work on THOUGHT STEAL so both players lose a card to each other.
- Relocate Sector
- No, you can't have 2 sets of two boards, each, isolated.
The entire board must remain connected after a RELOCATE SECTOR. AUTOWARPS
do not suddenly appear after RELOCATE SECTOR is used. Opposite board edges
connect, nothing more. RELOCATE SECTOR is useless in a two-player game in the 7th edition since the exits cross over the way they do, and should be discarded if drawn, and replaced with a new card.
- Remove Curse
- This will stop permanent spells, even LIFESAVER, on a player.
It does not affect magic items, such as ARTIFACTS, magic sticks, or magic
stones, or an ANIMATED OBJECT.
- Reverse
- Against POWER DRAIN, both players will get points. REVERSE will
not work on you if it is you who are doing the attack. Thus, if you lose
points due to a POWER ATTACK you've used, you may not REVERSE these points!
- Ricochet
- See REFLECTION.
- Rosebush
- See THORNBUSH.
- Safe
- If an item is in a SAFE, it is not considered to be lying on the
ground. Thus, an item on a home base that is in a SAFE does not count as
one of the 2 needed to win, though technically there is no way to create a SAFE on a home base, since it's an immobile object, and you can create objects there. If a SAFE is dispelled, the item inside immediately falls to the ground.
- Shadow
- This clearly only costs you a point during your OWN turn, not everyone
else's too! The 1 point cost is paid at the beginning of each turn; you can
stop Shadow anytime you feel like it.
- Shieldstone
- No, it does not work as a "1" without a NUMBER card, and says
so right on the card. Only 1 Number Card per use!
- Shrink
- If a spell misses you while you are shrunk, it dissipates into
nothingness. Big Man will nullify Shrink.
- Slime
- What works in a SLIME? Some folks have trouble deciding what would
go well in a slime. Try a FIREBALL, or LIGHTNINGBLAST, or SLOW DEATH, or
SUDDEN DEATH. You get the idea. After a player sets off the spell, it only
affects him, later players entering the SLIME are not affected by the
spells which have already been set off.
- Slow Death
- REMOVE CURSE works just fine on this. Once it has been
activated, FULL SHIELD and REFLECTIONS would have no effect on it, as they
only work when a spell is cast, not on subsequent effects of the spell. If
SLOW DEATH is REVERSED, the player receives a point for every card drawn.
ABSORB against SLOW DEATH will only stop the damage incurred by one card,
sine ABSORB is meant to work for one attack. That's what's meant by
counteractions working "momentarily", they only effect the one point of
Slow Death that they are cast on, then the Slow Death spell continues to
operate as before.
- Soulstone
- If hit by a FIREBALL and you only have, for example, 4 points
left, since it is a Counteraction it will do its job first, thus you would
only take 1 point of fire damage, since the last 3 must be taken with
physical damage, but then the stone would be destroyed because some fire
damage got through at all.
- Speed
- With SPEED cast on you, your controlled MONSTERS get an extra turn,
too. Also, SPEED can be cast anytime during your turn, but not after you
pick up an object. This means you could cast it, pick up an object, draw
cards, then take your extra turn. You can't use SPEED to help you attack
someone on the first round of turns. If you have SPEED on you while under the
influence of a duration spell, it uses up a turn of that duration. This redefines the duration of a spell from the viewpoint of a caster; the duration STILL lasts until the start of the caster's turn, but the total number of turns is based on the recipient's turn-count.
- Sticky Wand (or Sticky Stick)
- Webs, if burned, disappear immediately.
h
- Strength
- If you tear a treasure out of someone else's hands, this does NOT count
as picking up an object and does not end your turn. In fact, you can tear a
treasure out of somebody's hands and drop it on the floor even while
carrying another treasure.
- Swap
- You can use a SWAP before TELEPORT, but not after (within the same
turn, of course). Since SWAP indicates that it replaces your movement, then
if a REUSE SPELL card is used, you cannot use SWAP again in the same turn,
as you have already performed your movement for the turn. Aesthetically this
doesn't make a lot of sense, and the card shouldn't say that SWAP replaces
movement, but rather if you use SWAP, you foresake your movement, which
would allow you to use it twice in a turn, as it would not actually be your
movement.
Swaps tend to disobey the rule about creating objects in occupied spaces,
but that's okay, they're supposed to.
SWAP MEET conflicts somewhat with the rule that says you can't create an
object where there is already an object, since SWAP MEET clearly says that
you swap carried objects, meaning you would HAVE to be in the same space as
the "created object". SWAP MEET, though, is an acception to the rules, and
its operation is clearly explained on the card. Swap Meet is also a little
ambiguous; you only swap ONE of your objects for ONE of the opponent's, not
two for two.
- Teleport
- If you use this spell as a Counteraction, the attack has no chance
of hitting you. Yes, with a REUSE SPELL, you can TELEPORT twice in a turn.
You can teleport only into a vacant space; the 8th edition clarifies this.
- Teleport Amulet
- If you attempt to use this and your roll lands you inside
solid stone, you do not teleport, but you still lose life-points.
- Teleport Opponent
- If REFLECTED, opponent chooses where he wishes to send
you. You may finish your normal movement after he moves you (unlike a
regular TELEPORT).
- Teleport Spells
- Some teleporation spells let you teleport into occupied spaces and some don't. This is usually called out explicitly on each card. They vary because some cards would violate game mechanics if you did them a certain way. Say for example, someone takes control of your Wizard and tries to use Teleport to put you inside a Solid Stone block. It can't happen in the 8th edition, because the card stipulates that you cannot teleport into an occupied space. If a card does NOT call out one or the other, then you can perform the noted teleportation to any space you like, within the limits of the card.
- Thornbush
- Could be punched from an adjacent square without damage to the
Wizard doing the punching.
- Thumb of God
- If your set says this card is LOS, ignore that. It can be
aimed anywhere on the board. If you really, really hate this card, and you
own the set, remove it from the game. There has been a bit of confusion
about this card. It does NOT eliminate any pieces or players from the game.
If they are knocked off the board, you just put them back on at the space
which is nearest to the edge where they got knocked off.
- Tiny Swap
- Though not intended to be used this way, it is possible to use
TINY SWAP to move yourself, since you are in your own LOS. Yes, this is a
much more powerful version of TRADER. No, you may not put immovable objects on a player's home base.
- Torquemada
- If your opponent has run out of fingers and teeth, then he can
probably no longer deal cards anyway, so any player with functional eyes
left will have to read all the players' cards to them. Ha! Just kidding.
Not a real card (Not yet, anyway).
- Trader
- If your Wizard is in LOS with 2 different objects which are resting
on the floor, you may swap their positions. The two items must be normally mobile objects, not things like THORNBUSHES.
- Troll
- No, he does not normally go above 6 life-points, unless he has some
other spell cast on him that allows this to happen.
- Ugly
- Not permanent, no. People move away even though it's not their turn.
This is instantaneous, no duration. It will affect all players in LOS.
Since it is cast on yourself, there is no "roll to hit" on players who are
INVISIBLE, SHRUNK, etc., if they are in LOS. Likewise, a Blinded person
cannot be affected by Ugly.
If you are stuck in a 1 square room with another player and he casts
UGLY on himself, nothing happens. I suppose you could throw up or
something, but there are no bad game effects.
Since UGLY is instantaneous, an opponent may certainly enter the UGLY
person's LOS after that person's turn, since he is no longer UGLY. Even
though most Counteractions are useless against UGLY, since it is cast on
oneself and not an opponent, it is still possible for an opponent to get
off a non-related Counteraction, like a Waterwall, just before UGLY forces
him to move, even casting past the UGLY person if desired.
- Visionstone
- We've said this before; you can't DRAG a solid object through
a wall. Generally, this applies to some other spells, too. VISIONSTONE
allows you to cast through a wall, but it does not allow solids to pass
through. You can still, of course, create objects and monsters on the other
side of a wall; it's the spell that goes through the wall, not the object
that you are creating! VISIONSTONE works fine on doors, but not SOLID
STONE. It will not help you see through other LOS-blocking things, such as
a THORNBUSH or DUSTCLOUD. REFLECTED spells will not get back to you, as the
person doing the REFLECTING cannot see through the wall.
If you are using Visionstone and are shooting a spell diagonally so
that it just clips the corner of the wall, passing through the corner
counts as going through 2 walls (the line-of-sight line does actually pass
through both walls that intersect at a corner), thus, the Visionstone would
not work here.
- Walking Dead
- FULL SHIELD and REFLECTIONS have no effect on this after it's
started, as they only work when a spell is first cast, not on subsequent
effects of the spell. WALKING DEAD works on folks that are flying, as well.
- Wall of Fire
- This blocks LOS, even for a FIRE IMP. WALL OF FIRE does not
destroy Magic Stones as a FIREBALL does. Damage done by a WALL OF FIRE is
not considered an attack on you, thus REVERSE has no effect on the damage.
You may NOT cast it on top of an ILLUSION WALL, as that violates the rule
about creating an object in an occupied space.
- Ward
- This is to be played when a player picks up a treasure, you can't use
it after a player has been carrying a treasure.
- Waterwall
- If used as a Counteraction against a fire-based spell, it still
washes Wizards back 2 spaces if in range. The movement of a WATERWALL does
not constitute a Counteraction, that is, if the backwash from a WATERWALL
would wash you out of LOS of a non-fire-based Attack, it doesn't move you
fast enough to prevent damage. Its effect against fire is based on the fact
that it suddenly appears right in front of the FIREBALL or on top of the
WALL OF FIRE. It need not be cast the same turn as WALL OF FIRE to destroy
it.
This of course implies that in this case you can create an object
where one already exists. Since this is explicitly defined on the card, it's
okay (since cards overrule the rules).
WATERWALL pushes away from the point of creation, so players on
opposite sides are pushed opposite directions. You could conceivably use it
just to move yourself an extra 2 spaces during a turn, if you like. If you
are in a space with another player and you use a WATERWALL, you are both
moved the same direction. Waterwall will NOT move you around corners; you
smack into the wall at the corner instead. If used on Handful of Tacks, they
are removed entirely from the board, not just washed back.
The Waterwall itself WILL move around corners, even though it won't push people around corners, so if someone is within the 2 space range around a corner, the Waterwall will still get them.
- Wizardblade
- This is most certainly an object. However, the damage it does
is like a spell attack, but since it is any object, ABSORB SPELL has no
effect on it. REFLECTIONS will work, putting magical damage back upon the
user. NO SPELL would stop WIZARDBLADE for its duration.
You have to supply a new Number card each time you use Wizardblade.
You have to discard each Number card as it's used in each attack.
- Wraith
- Yes, he can be attacked physically, with a DAGGER, punch, etc. If all the damage from
his attack is stopped, the attacked Wizard still loses a card!